

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 5E Resolution No. 2024-0002

RESOLUTION OPPOSING WMATA'S REMOVAL OF P ST NW BUS STOP

WHEREAS, ANC 5E was surprised when we noticed that the bus stop at North Capitol and P Street had been removed without ANC5E or community input; and

WHEREAS, this bus stop had no signage requesting that the bus stop should only be utilized by customers boarding or utilizing WMATA or current bus service; and

WHEREAS, District residents contribute over one billion dollars from our DC budget to enjoy reliable, safe bus service paid to WMATA; and

WHEREAS, this bus stop serves five area schools (Kipp, Friendship, Mundo Verde PCS, Dunbar and McKinley HS). These students should not be penalized by WMATA for being in a drug zone, where people not utilizing public transportation are doing drugs, sleeping and sitting (loitering) at the bus stop; and

WHEREAS, the bus stop serves Truxton Circle, Bloomingdale, Edgewood, NOMA and Northwest One and other adjacent neighborhoods in Wards 5 and 6; and

WHEREAS, many of the Senior Citizens in the area have given up their driving license to ride safe, reliable transportation and are disgusted by decisions that have not been vetted in the neighborhoods; and

WHEREAS, our constituents acknowledge that while more efforts to avoid overdoses, drug use, deaths by guns and knives should be a priority, taking the bus stop and shelter is not the solution; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that ANC5E calls on the Mayor, City Council, MPD and all relevant government agencies to take aggressive action to return the bus stop back immediately to our DC residents who ride public transportation,

THIS RESOLUTION came before ANC 5E at a duly noticed public meeting on June 18, 2024. ANC 5E is composed of 6 Commissioners, such that 4 Commissioners constitute a quorum. With 5 Commissioners present, ANC 5E voted 4-1-0 to adopt this resolution. Respectfully Submitted,

le m Ber

Chairperson, ANC 5E Karla M. Lewis

Muhn

Corresponding Secretary, ANC 5E Frederick W. Carver

5E01 Joyce Robinson-Paul <u>5E01@anc.dc.gov</u> 202-330-7955

5E02 Karla M. Lewis Chairperson <u>5E02@anc.dc.gov</u> 410-705-4070 5E03 Fred 'Phil' Carver Corresponding Secretary <u>5E03@anc.dc.gov</u> 202-641-8507

5E04 Huma Imtiaz Recording Secretary 5E04@anc.dc.gov 202-240-2638 5E05 Kevin Rapp Vice Chair 5E05@anc.dc.gov 202-999-8182



5E06 Kirby Vining Treasurer 5E06@anc.dc.gov 202-213-2690